Clinical evidence

Real-world walking. Measured and published.

From everyday family routines to school and clinic programs, researchers are documenting how Trexo is used and what participants experience.

171

participants enrolled

Walking at home, studied at scale.

171 children and young adults enrolled in a six-month observational study of Trexo use at home and in the community, with device use tracked month by month.

Six-month observational study · ages 1–24

Hilderley et al., 2025 · J NeuroEng Rehabil

150

min/week, median

Walking became part of the week.

In a 12-week family-led program, 15 completers walked a median 150 minutes and about 7,500 steps per week. Parents also reported progress toward individual goals.

Single-group program · ages 4–23

Youngblood et al., 2026 · Disabil Rehabil

99%

median walking time

Walking time. Active time.

In a single-session study of 15 participants, a median 99% of robotic walking time met the threshold for physical activity: at least light activity, measured by heart rate.

Single-session measurement · ages 5–24

Youngblood et al., 2025 · J Phys Act Health

Research spans Trexo Home, Trexo Plus and devices identified by the authors as Trexo. Each study below names the device and population evaluated, alongside its findings and limitations. These findings describe the research participants, not a guaranteed outcome for every Trexo Theo user.

These observational and single-group studies include ages 1–24, many under 12, and varied diagnoses. The US indication is ages 12 and older with cerebral palsy. Individual results vary.

01 · Research library

Published Trexo findings

Home use, activity, clinical feasibility and family experience. Study designs and populations matter as much as the results.

  1. Hilderley et al.

    2025

    Six months of home and community robotic walking

    Observational cohort · Journal of NeuroEngineering and Rehabilitation

    171 enrolled; ages 1–24 (median 6); 70.8% cerebral palsy. Trexo robotic walker, privately obtained; model not specified in the paper.

    Parents reported statistically significant improvements over time in functional mobility (p=0.006), physical activity (p=0.012) and sleep disturbance (p=0.040). Median mobility score moved from 1 to 2; sleep disturbance moved from the moderate to mild range.

    Study context & limitations: No control group; volunteer sample. Mobility gains were modest relative to the 1.5-point minimal important difference. Only 91 participants had baseline and six-month mobility scores; 7 improved by at least two levels. Six-month questionnaires were completed by 98 of 171 (57.3%). Monthly minutes and steps did not significantly change; frequency of use declined. Positive affect and bowel outcomes were not significant after adjustment. This was not a systematic safety assessment.

    Support & source notes: Robertson Fund support; Trexo provided in-kind recruitment/data support. The authors report academic independence under a data-sharing agreement, and an unrestricted Trexo donation to the research program.

  2. Youngblood et al.

    2026

    RoWaCaWa: a family-led walking program

    Single-arm feasibility study · Disability and Rehabilitation

    12 weeks; 19 enrolled, 15 completed; completers aged 4–23, 10 with cerebral palsy. Trexo Plus loaned for home and community use.

    Completers walked a median 150 minutes and 7,544 steps per week, across five sessions. Parent-rated goal performance and satisfaction increased significantly (both p≤0.001). The journal abstract reports adverse events in fewer than 1% of sessions: 16 minor and one moderate.

    Study context & limitations: No comparison group. Four participants withdrew because of surgery, illness or school/home feasibility. The accompanying preprint reports no significant change in EQ-5D-Y, Carer-QoL or CP-CHILD; goal ratings declined for some at follow-up. Device malfunctions affected 7% of sessions, commonly connections or batteries. Events affected five participants; a blister led to nine missed sessions. Only 8 of 15 met the weekly training target on average.

    Support & source notes: The preprint discloses Trexo device loans, training, usage data and support, plus a $40,000 unrestricted donation to the research team in 2023. Academic independence is stated. Additional funding included Alberta Children’s Hospital Foundation and Kids Brain Health Network.

    Methods, attrition, follow-up and disclosures: accompanying preprint (not peer reviewed)
  3. Youngblood et al.

    2025

    Physical activity during a single robotic walking session

    Single-session study · Journal of Physical Activity and Health

    15 participants aged 5–24 who could not walk independently; Trexo robotic walking aid (model not specified in the abstract).

    Participants spent a median 99% of robotic walking time physically active (interquartile range 57–100%), using a threshold above 20% heart-rate reserve. Median active time was 17 minutes; the median session-average heart-rate reserve was 30%.

    Study context & limitations: A single-session heart-rate measurement supports at least light physical activity during use, not improved fitness or activity outside the session. Abstract-level review; detailed safety and funding disclosures were not available in the retrieved abstract.

    Support & source notes: Funding and competing-interest disclosures are available from the linked journal article.

  4. Bradley, Chau, Kawamura & Wright

    2026

    Exoskeleton-assisted physiotherapy in school and outpatient contexts

    Single-group feasibility study · Developmental Medicine & Child Neurology

    10 children with cerebral palsy, GMFCS IV; mean age 5 years 9 months. Trexo Plus, twice weekly for six weeks, with a two-person physiotherapy team.

    All 10 completed the program; 15 of 16 feasibility indicators were met. Individual COPM and GAS goals were achieved overall. Gait maneuverability improved and therapist assistance decreased in participants’ own supported-stepping walkers.

    Study context & limitations: Exploratory, uncontrolled and not powered to establish treatment effects. GMFM-88 changed by +1.0, below the 3-point target; one-minute walk distance did not increase. Two skin events (one mild, one moderate) affected one child across 120 sessions; a pressure lesion required a 34-day pause. Discomfort was documented in 13 sessions and malfunctions in 6.

    Support & source notes: Reported funders include Bloorview Research Institute, NSERC and Cerebral Palsy Alliance Research Foundation. Research staff supported maintenance and transport. The retrieved full-text excerpt is incomplete; final competing-interest disclosures were not available.

    Registered protocol: NCT05463211
  5. Diot et al.

    2023

    Trexo Home: users, usage and initial impacts

    Observational cohort · Children

    First month of Trexo Home use; 70 consented, 66 with usage data and 42 with pre/post outcomes. Ages 2–24 (median 7); 83% cerebral palsy.

    Families used Trexo a median three times weekly, with 732 steps per week. Parent-reported sleep disturbance decreased significantly (p=0.0066).

    Study context & limitations: No control group; incomplete outcome data. Bowel function, positive affect and physical activity did not change significantly. This first-month report and later home-use work should not be assumed to represent independent participant cohorts.

    Support & source notes: Robertson Fund and Alberta Children’s Hospital Foundation support. Trexo supported recruitment and data collection; authors report no company role in analysis, interpretation, writing or publication decisions.

  6. Youngblood, Hilderley & Condliffe

    2026

    Families’ experiences of a robotic walker at home

    Qualitative study · Disability and Rehabilitation: Assistive Technology

    Seven parents whose children used Trexo at home for at least six months; child ages 2–22 in the accompanying preprint.

    Parents described family bonding, enjoyment and new ways to interact with their child, alongside their observations of physical changes.

    Study context & limitations: Interviews describe perceptions, not measured treatment effects. Families also described stress from transfers and transport, practical constraints and the financial burden of obtaining a device.

    Support & source notes: Journal abstract reviewed; population detail comes from the accompanying preprint. Consult the full publication for disclosures.

    Accompanying qualitative preprint (not peer reviewed)
  7. Dierwechter & Kolakowsky-Hayner

    2024

    Journey to one million steps in an outpatient clinic

    Retrospective case series · Pediatric Physical Therapy

    Three children aged 3–5 with neurologic disorders; Trexo Plus at Good Shepherd Rehabilitation Network.

    The clinic logged one million cumulative steps in its exoskeleton devices. The three cases described progress toward therapy goals, tolerability and increasing step counts.

    Study context & limitations: The million steps is a clinic usage total, not an outcome for a million steps or for the entire caseload. Three uncontrolled cases cannot establish effectiveness.

    Support & source notes: Implementation report describing collaboration with device engineers; not presented as an independent controlled trial.

02 · Research library

Registered studies and protocols

Registration documents what researchers plan to test. It is not a positive result or an extra independent cohort.

  1. McCormick et al.

    2023

    Comparing robotic gait training and functional clinical therapy

    Published protocol · Contemporary Clinical Trials

    CHEO / University of Ottawa; planned randomized crossover feasibility study of Trexo Plus, ages 2–12 with cerebral palsy, GMFCS III–IV.

    The protocol describes eight-week therapy periods and measures of feasibility, goals and gait. It is a study plan, not a report of comparative outcomes.

    Study context & limitations: The registry snapshot reviewed September 6, 2026 listed status as unknown, last verified August 2023. No results were available in the reviewed record.

    Support & source notes: Ontario Brain Institute/CP-Net and CHEO-linked innovation funding; authors declared no competing interests.

    Registry: NCT05378243
  2. University of Calgary

    Registry

    RoWaCaWa registration

    Registered study · NCT05473676

    Family-led Trexo walking program; 19 enrolled.

    This registration corresponds to the published RoWaCaWa study above, not an additional independent results cohort.

    Study context & limitations: The September 6, 2026 reviewed snapshot marked the study completed. Registry completion alone is not evidence of benefit.

    Support & source notes: Sponsor: University of Calgary. See the linked results article and accompanying preprint for funding and in-kind support.

03 · Research library

Conference research

Early findings presented at scientific meetings, kept separate from full journal publications.

  1. Landwehr-Prakel et al.

    2025

    Cardiovascular load during walker-based exoskeleton use

    Conference paper · RESNA Annual Conference

    Four children with cerebral palsy, GMFCS III–V; mean age 32 months; up to six Trexo visits.

    Heart rate rose above resting levels during sessions. This is an early description of activity during device use.

    Study context & limitations: Small toddler sample, conference evidence. It does not establish improved cardiovascular fitness or outcomes in the US indicated population.

    Support & source notes: University of Washington / Seattle Children’s investigators; linked to NCT05520359.

  2. Sisodiya et al.

    2025

    Caregiver perceptions of children’s mobility with Trexo

    Conference poster · APTA CSM #3362

    Five caregivers; children aged 23 months–6 years with cerebral palsy, GMFCS III–V; up to six in-lab Trexo sessions.

    Caregivers described enjoyment, exploration and perceived autonomy.

    Study context & limitations: Qualitative perceptions, not clinical outcome measurements. Cost, device size, setup assistance and availability were barriers.

    Support & source notes: University of Washington research team; conference abstract, not a full journal outcome paper.

04 · Research library

The wider research field

Background across devices. These findings should not be attributed to Trexo Theo.

  1. Postol et al.

    2026

    “Stepping forward”: a review of wearable overground exoskeletons

    Field context · Systematic review with meta-analysis

    21 studies; 241 participants with cerebral palsy, ages 3–40; multiple devices.

    The review summarizes the wider field of overground exoskeleton research. Two Trexo reports in its study table total seven participants.

    Study context & limitations: Pooled findings across different devices and populations are not Trexo-specific treatment results and are not a Theo clinical trial.

    Support & source notes: Cerebral Palsy Alliance / University of Sydney and collaborating researchers. Consult the review for complete funding and disclosures.

Want the reprints, or to run a study?

Our clinical team shares full references and works with research groups on new protocols.